Yinka Dene Alliance

First Nations Going to Court United Against Enbridge’s Northern Gateway Project

June 17, 2014

Federal and provincial governments disregard Indigenous Title and Rights

Today, we unequivocally reject the Harper Government’s decision to approve the Enbridge Northern Gateway tanker and pipelines project and First Nations will immediately go to court to vigorously pursue all lawful means to stop the Enbridge project.

We have governed our lands, in accordance to our Indigenous laws, since time immemorial. Our inherent Title and Rights and our legal authority over our respective territories have never been surrendered.

Our inherent rights are human rights constitutionally enshrined, judicially recognized and embodied in international legal instruments including the United Nations’ Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples.

This project, and the federal process to approve it, violated our rights and our laws. We are uniting to defend our lands and waters of our respective territories. Our rights and laws compel us to act.

Enbridge’s Northern Gateway tanker and pipeline project exposes all communities from Alberta to the Pacific Coast to the undeniable risk of pipeline and supertanker oil spills. First Nations and the majority of British Columbians believe this project poses an unacceptable risk to the environment, the health, the safety and livelihoods of all peoples throughout this province.

We will defend our territories whatever the costs may be.

Council of the Haida Nation

Gitanmaax Band Council

Gitanyow Hereditary Chiefs



Gitxsan (Delgamuukw)




Lax kw'alaams




Neskonlith Indian Band

Office of the Wet'suwet'en

Saikuz First Nation

Takla Lake


Tsetsaut / Skii km Lax Ha

Tsleil-Waututh Nation

Wet'suwet'en First Nation

Williams Lake Indian Band


Carrier Sekani Tribal Council

Coastal First Nations

St'at'imc Chiefs Council

Tahltan Central Council

Yinka Dene Alliance

BC Assembly of First Nations

First Nations Summit

Union of BC Indian Chiefs

Media inquiries, please contact:

kiltlaats’gaa Peter Lantin, President of the Haida Nation 250-626-7804

Chief Arnold Clifton, Gitgaat, 778-884-1215

Chief Councillor Ellis Ross, Haisla, 250-639-9361

Art Sterritt, Coastal First Nations, 604-868-9110

Douglas Neasloss, Kitasoo/Xaixais, 250-839-1255 ext 209

Chief Garry Reece, Lax kw'alaams, 250-625-3293

Chief Councillor Marilyn Slett, Heiltsuk Tribal Council, 250-957-2381

Nek't (George Muldoe), Wilp of Delgamuukw, 250-842-6627

Chief Judy Wilson, Neskonlith Indian Band, 250-320-7738

Tribal Chair Terry Teegee, Carrier Sekani Tribal Council, 250-640-3256

Grand Chief Edward John, First Nations Summit, 778-772-8218

Grand Chief Stewart Phillip, Union of BC Indian Chiefs, 250-490-5314

Sarah Thomas, Tsleil-Waututh Nation, 604.358.3371

Courtney Daws, BC Assembly of First Nations, 604-922-7733